My Favorite Health App Is…..

 

 

 

 

My favorite health app is probably MyFitnessPal, Nike Running, or Nike FuelBand. I use all 3 on a regular basis.

MyFitnessPal is a great way to understand how many calories you are eating in a day and also how many you need to lose, gain, or maintain your weight. It really helped me put portions into perspective, and helped me control what I was eating. It’s also nice because I can enter in how many calories I burned while exercising, and it’ll calculate that into how many calories I can eat during the day. I really had no idea how many calories I was eating until I started using this app. In about a year, I ended up losing 30lbs using MyFitnessPal and just really concentrating on eating whole, natural foods. Another nice features with this app is that you can use it on your mobile device and desktop, and it is synced up whenever you log in. And the app is free, so you have nothing to lose! You can also add friends and use them as motivation to keep eating healthy & exercising.
Another great app is Nike Running. I have only been running for about 8 months or so, and there has been some major downtime in there when I hurt my knee and had vacations. But this app is great because it tracks your pace, your distance, and the amount of calories you burned. When I first started running, I wasn’t keeping track of my mileage correctly, but having an app that does it for me, really helped and it kept me motivated. On the app, you can set up routes you want to run and name them whatever you’d like. You can post your run onto your social network site, post about how the run was, whether it was outdoors/indoors/rainy/etc. Overall, it’s been a great app!

And the last one that I really enjoy is the Nike Fuelband app. The Nike Fuelband is a watch/pedometer that keeps track of your activity. Depending on your activity level, you get Fuel Points. Each day you have a goal of how many Fuel Points you want to achieve. The Fuelband also keeps track of calories burnt and how many steps you’ve taken. I received this for my birthday back in July and have worn it every day since. It helps keep me motivated and it’s interesting to see what activities give you the most points. For example, the elliptical doesn’t give you too many points because it’s such a fluid motion, so they recommend putting it on your ankle instead. But shoveling the snow gave me TONS of points and helped me get the best day ever at almost 7000 Nike Fuel Points! My only complaint with this is that I wish there were more colors. Right now there are only 3 and 2 of them are very similar. I’d be nice to have a little variety other than black and white/clear.

Leave a Reply

