Soul Food

imagesHope everyone is having a wonderful day today! 🙂 Happy Tuesday. In some areas of the country, they are recovering from blizzards and snow storms, while other parts are finally starting to warm up, teasing us with a hint of Spring. Wherever you are, I hope you are safe and happy.

Do you ever have foods that you smell and it brings back an amazing memory, maybe something from your childhood or a smell that reminds you of your spouse? As humans, we have a strong relationship with food. This can be both good and bad. When it’s good, it is really good. That memory of your mom’s cooking from when you are a child, warm not only your body but your soul. However, some of us tend to look at food negatively. Sometimes we restrict food, when trying to control or lose weight. Or we don’t take advantages of the wonderful flavors offered in our food, by quickly chewing food and not necessarily appreciating what we have in front of us and what we are being given.

During this month, I want you to focus on your relationship with food. Focus on the good and the bad. Focus on what certain foods do to your overall well-being. I know that if I go out and eat fast food somewhere, I certainly don’t feel happy about what I have just eaten. I don’t have a relationship with fast food. However, if I cook a homemade meal or even a recipe that I remember eating as a child, I have a feeling of being content that washes over me. Food goes much deeper than just our physical well-being, it also plays a roll in our mental well-being. Food connects us with our roots. It’s important to have a positive relationship with food in order to grow as a person, lose weight, and our overall happiness.

If you are interested in improving your relationship with food, contact me for a free, no-obligation health history to see if I can help you with your relationship with food.

Leave a Reply

