How to Get Back on Track!

photo

We all have days or weekends where we overindulge and end up paying for it. That was me this last weekend. We have a local sandwich shop that has the most amazing Philly Cheesesteak EVER! Normally I get a 6-inch, and am full for most of the day. This time, I decided I’ll get a 12-inch, and have half for lunch and half for dinner. This along with a sweet care package from my step-sister in Montana that contained beer and taffy, was a recipe for disaster. My body certainly hated me for the whole next day. We all have days like this though. We know we shouldn’t indulge, but we do and end up paying for it. However, it’s a good thing to recognize these days and try our best to make them few and far between. So after you have these type of days, how do you recover and can you? Here are a few tips to help you along the way:

  • Have a fruit & veggie filled juice to help you recover. Some of my favorite items to use are kale, oranges, apples, lemons, carrots, and pears, but there are a lot of options. If you buy a store bought juice, make sure it’s 100% juice without any added sweeteners or preservatives. Honestly when I make my own juice, I can feel a huge difference in my energy level. And the fruit that I add to my juices are already so sweet, I don’t need to add anything else.
  • For lunch, have a salad. You can make your own dressing if you’d like or use an all natural dressing. In the picture posted with this article, my salad was made of arugula, olives, artichoke hearts, sesame seeds, and Woodstock dressing. I paired this salad with 32oz of water and a smoothie, that was dairy & sugar free.
  • For dinner, make something at home using only whole, natural ingredients. Don’t buy something that is going to be quick and easy. You can make quick & easy meals at home too. You could make a meal in the slow cooker, like the Chicken Potato Indian Curry or Coconut Chicken which only takes about 30 minutes from start to finish.
  • Drink plenty of water! Shoot for at least 64oz of water, but ideally you should drink about 1/2 your weight in ounces of water per day. For example, if you weigh 150lbs, drink 75oz of water per day.
  • Get out and exercise! Nothing makes me feel more on track than when I get a good workout in for at least 30 minutes. I like that I am getting my body moving and sweating out any of the toxins that may be lingering around from my over-indulgence.

If you are really feeling like you dug yourself a big hole, you may want to consider doing a 7-day detox. You’ll feel like a brand new person by the time those 7 days are up. It’s a great tool that you can use seasonally to really get back into the swing of things and really take control of your health by getting back on track.

Leave a Reply

