Motivation

motivation quote

Motivation – Where is it and how can you find it? If you are wanting to get in shape and eat better, sometimes it can be so hard just to get started. But once you get started you have made that first step into bettering yourself. But how do you stay focused and motivated to keep going? Here are a few tips to help you stay motivated when it comes to your health!

 

  • Exercise and eating healthy are cheaper than the hospital bills that can accompany weight related issues like heart disease, high cholesterol, diabetes, etc. Wouldn’t it be better to save that money for a nice vacation rather than your insurance deductible? Food really is the best medicine!
  • Get an accountability partner. Whether this is a friend, family member, or a health coach. Find someone that is going to hold you accountable. Lately I’ve been exercising with my husband. Both of us admitted we wouldn’t have been exercising if it wasn’t for the other person. We push each other further than our comfort zone and will only reap the benefits because of this.
  • Set a goal with a reward. If you are having a hard time staying motivated, consider setting a goal that offers a reward. For example, when you lose 20lbs you get a new pair of pants or once you are able to run a mile in under 12 minutes, get a new pair of running shoes. Not all rewards have to cost money either. Maybe the reward could be that your significant other cooks dinner that night or does the laundry for you. Just find something that will keep you motivated.
  • Hang up a picture of you at your goal weight or you at your heaviest. Sometimes seeing the body that you want on yourself is enough to push you further. Don’t hang up a picture of somebody else though, because all bodies are different and just because you weigh the same doesn’t mean your body will look the same. Focus on you and only you!

Find exactly what works best for you when it comes to your motivation. I like to set goals like signing up for a race. If I have an event scheduled that I know I’m going to be participating in, I know I have to get ready for it. I am my own worst enemy and tend to beat myself up a lot if I under-perform.

How do you stay focused and keep your motivation to reach your goal?

3 Comments

  1. I do not know if it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else encountering problems with your blog. It appears as though some of the text in your content are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This might be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Kudos

Leave a Reply

