How Much Water Should You Drink?

Water

 

According to the USGS Water Science School, up to 60% of the human body is water, the brain is composed of 70% water, and the lungs are nearly 90% water. No wonder water is such a vital beverage that most people don’t get enough of. About 2 years ago, I was having some blood sugar issues. My diet was off, I had some weight to lose, and I was definitely not drinking enough water. Since then I have lost weight, balanced my diet by adding in a lot more whole, natural foods, and increased my water intake. My goal is to drink at least 64oz of water every day, no exceptions. If I have to chug 32oz of water to get to my goal, I will. During the warmer months and also on days that I exercise, I shoot for 96oz of water per day. This way I know that I am making up for any water that may be lost while I’m hot and sweaty! Now that I drink a lot of water, I definitely notice if I didn’t have enough the day before. I tend to feel groggy and will have a headache. But by hitting my goal each day, I can avoid that completely.

Did you know that beverages like coffee & tea won’t count towards your water intake? They are actually natural diuretics and can cause you to become dehydrated if you drink too much. Also soda will not count towards your water intake. While there may be water in your soda, it’s filled with other ingredients like sugar, artificial sweeteners, high fructose corn syrup, and other things that offer no health benefits.

Next time you reach for a soda, coffee, or tea, try substituting it for water. You can add fresh lemon to help add some flavor. Check out this article that helps give you healthy alternatives to soda! If you are struggling with weight loss, omitting soda from your diet can definitely help. Try not to drink your calories. Get your calories from whole, natural foods to boost your weight loss.

5 Comments

  1. I understood more new things on this fat reduction issue. One issue is an excellent nourishment is highly important if weight loss. A huge reduction in unhealthy food, sweet foods, fried foods, sweet foods, beef, and white colored flour items could be required. Having wastes undesirable microorganisms, and dangerous contaminants could prevent objectives for weight loss. While specified medicines quickly solve the issue, the undesirable adverse effects aren’t worth it, they generally never ever offer even more than a transient option. It is a well-known indisputable reality that 95 % of star diet plans fail. Many thanks sharing your thinking on this blog site.

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Nutrition Tips for Moms & Dads | Elite Health Coaching

  3. Pingback: Nutrition Tips for Busy Professionals | Elite Health Coaching

  4. Pingback: Boost Your Energy Monday – Daily Tip #112 | Elite Health Coaching

  5. Pingback: Always Running Around? You Can Still Eat Healthy! | Elite Health Coaching

Leave a Reply

