Within the last year, gluten free has become a household phrase. Is it because it’s a new term or is just gaining popularity? Gluten free has been a term that’s been used for a very long time, but within the last year companies are starting to advertise gluten free on their packaging, even if it has always been gluten free. There are more and more articles in regards to going gluten free as well. All of this has led to the growing popularity of the phrase.
So now that you hear it all the time, is it the best thing for you? A gluten free diet is recommended for those that have Celiac Disease or wheat allergies. To find out if you have Celiac Disease, it’s best to speak with your physician so they can run any necessary tests, which can include blood work. How do you know if you may have a wheat allergy? If within a few hours of eating wheat, you experience swelling or itching around your mouth, nasal congestion, difficulty breathing, or other symptoms, you may have a wheat allergy.
So lets say you either have Celiac Disease, a wheat allergy, or just want to avoid wheat in general. What can you eat instead? Luckily there are a lot of substitutes! Foods you can eat include potatoes, gluten-free oats, quinoa, beans, nuts and nut butters, eggs, fruits & vegetables, along with meat and fish. Luckily with the popularity of gluten free, there have been a lot of alternatives to gluten that weren’t as widely known before. There are a lot of flours that can be substitute for wheat flour. For example, you can use cornmeal, oat flour, potato flour, rice flour, or soy flour.
Here is a recipe for a substitute to All Purpose Flour:
(makes 12 cups of flour)
8 cups rice flour (preferably brown)
2 2/3 cups potato starch
1 1/3 cups tapioca flour
Mix together and store in an airtight container.