Set Backs :(

3542822039_feeling_disappointed_xlargeI recently wrote a post about achieving my goals but had a slight set back this weekend. The relay race I’m supposed to participate in is on May 4th. While running on Sunday, I ended up with a possible tendon tear in my right foot! So frustrating! Lots of hard work and then to be injured. When I got back from my run on Sunday, I was definitely tired and my muscles were sore, but other than that I felt fine. We even went on a family walk on Sunday evening. But then Sunday night around 3am, I woke up with the most excruciating constant pain I’ve pretty much ever felt in my right foot. No matter what I did, I couldn’t get the pain to go away. I elevated my foot, iced it, put a heating pad on, took Ibuprofen, but still nothing. So Monday morning I decided I should probably have it checked out. Luckily nothing was broken, but a tear is just as frustrating to hear. I definitely used the RICE method on Monday (Rest, Ice, Compress, Elevate) and was still struggling. Sleeping on Tuesday morning was just as bad as the night before, only getting about 2 hours of sleep total. The rest of the time I was up and down trying to figure out how to make the pain stop and how to get comfortable. I was able to finally get some sleep Wednesday morning thanks to some Ibuprofen and Tylenol PM. I’m guessing I was still in some pain though, even though I don’t remember it, because my husband said he woke up in the middle of the night and I was sitting up in bed, breathing heavy like I was in pain. I ended up lying back down and falling asleep. I don’t remember this, but that’s alright by me. I am now able to put a little bit of pressure on my foot which is nice, so I’m hoping I’ll be back to normal in no time. However, with the race just a couple of weeks away, I don’t know if running 13 miles would be the best thing for me and my foot. I don’t want to push myself so hard where I’ll have an injury down the road, meaning a longer recovery time. For now, I’m going to take it slow, watch what I eat, and relax. There is probably nothing better for me right now than just relaxing, and not stressing about the relay too much. We have a backup runner just in case which eases my mind quite a bit. Oh well…. setbacks happen and it is important to remember that it is JUST a race. Everything will work out and I just need to take the healing process slow so I’m not in the same position 6 months down the road.

Leave a Reply

