Where Do You Grocery Shop?

groceriesI often get asked where I grocery shop. That can definitely vary. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Whole Foods, but I always notice that it costs a little bit more each trip. So I typically shop at Smith’s Marketplace, which is a division of Kroger. They now offer a line called Simple Truth, which is really nice because it is a very easy to identify label and it notates that they are free of antibiotics, hormones, and other ingredients like High Fructose Corn Syrup, that we avoid in our house. It costs just a little bit more, but it’s worth it in my eyes.

I have pretty much always shopped at Smith’s, but once we started to take control of what foods we put into our bodies and started to avoid other ingredients, it was such a headache. Grocery shopping would take 1-2 hours for a weeks worth of groceries. I hated it. That’s when we started shopping at Whole Foods. And while I love that store, sometimes it’s hard to swallow the increase in my grocery bill, which can range monthly from the cost of my power bill to a car payment. So, once Smith’s introduced the Simple Truth line, I started going back again. It’s not as friendly and earthy feeling as Whole Foods, but it is nice being able to grab everything I need (food, hygiene products, etc.) in one spot. Now that I’m more familiar with our food as well, it doesn’t take me nearly as long to shop because I know what foods are and aren’t a go in our house.

I do believe that knowledge is power and if you know what you are looking for and what you want to avoid, after you familiarize yourself with other products, it makes it a lot easier to get grocery shopping done efficiently. I always grocery shop with a list and I always plan our meals out ahead of time. This saves me time and money because I’m really only buying the things that we really need.

Where do you find yourself grocery shopping most often? What are some of the benefits and what are some of the downfalls?

Leave a Reply

