Kitchen Staples

Screen-shot-2012-04-23-at-11.40.29-AMHaving a fully stocked kitchen makes it much easier to prepare healthy meals at home. By cooking at home as much as I can, I can really focus on what we are putting on our table, the ingredients used, and the maximum amount of nutrients we can get out of each meal. When you have to run to the store every day for something new, it can be costly and inconvenient. Here is a list of my basic kitchen staples:

PANTRY:

  • white and brown rice
  • quinoa
  • couscous
  • pasta
  • coconut milk
  • diced tomatoes
  • sugar
  • Sugar in the Raw
  • agave nectar
  • flour
  • cornmeal
  • steel cut oats
  • all natural peanut butter
  • dried beans (garbanzo, pinto, and black)
  • bread crumbs
  • almond milk
  • wide variety of spices (as soon as I use one up, I write it on my list to make sure I don’t forget next time I’m at the store)
  • oil (canola, olive, and coconut)
  • honey
  • vinegar (apple cider & white)

FRIDGE:

  • almond milk
  • regular milk
  • eggs
  • carrots
  • celery
  • grapes
  • all natural cheese
  • lemon & lime juice
  • condiments such as mustard, organic ketchup, vegannaise, Worcestershire sauce
  • oranges
  • apples
  • strawberries
  • raspberries
  • frozen peas
  • yeast

I usually go grocery shopping once a week. I plan out my meals ahead of time, usually for 5-7 days depending on our weekly activities. If we have soccer, school performances, or something else, I make sure that I write that down on the calendar so it isn’t forgotten, and I know that we weren’t planning on cooking at home that night. As much as I’d really love to cook at home 100% of the time, it’s not feasible when we are running around with so many activities. But by making the most out of what I cook at home, I feel much better when we have no choice but to make a quick stop for lunch and dinner. Check out this article I wrote about meal planning and how I do it – http://elitehealthcoaching.com/2013/03/08/meal-planning/

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

