Running After Boston

boston-strong-runI’ve been putting off writing this blog post for quite some time now. I wasn’t sure how to approach it, if it was too far after the event that happened, etc. I’m not sure why I was putting it off, so here it goes.

Running is about more than just tying up your laces and exercising. Running can be freeing. Running allows you to prove to yourself that you can do more than you ever imagined. If someone would have told me 5 years ago that I would have ran 2 separate 5K’s last year, I probably would have laughed in their face. But I set a goal for myself and accomplished it, times 2!

The fact that the bombings happened at the end of the Boston Marathon is just disheartening. As more and more information comes out, we are slowly learning the motives behind the bomber’s plans. I couldn’t imagine how it was to cross the finish line and then have this happen. Or even the people that were running and hadn’t crossed the finish line yet. The bombings took away lives, and a lot of runner’s dreams. The runner’s traveled from all over the world to run this race, and the crossing of the finish line was taken away from them.

Once my foot heals, I cannot wait to get back into running. The bombing will not stop me from participating, from raising money for causes that I believe in, and they will not stop me from reaching my goals. I feel more focused and anxious to get back into running. It’ll be a slow start for me, but my focus is now running a half marathon and finishing with a decent time. I will do this and nobody can take that goal away from me or any other runner for that matter!

Leave a Reply

