What Did You Do This Weekend?

Our weekend was FULL of activities, which isn’t always horrible.

On Friday the 13th (insert spooky music here), we just hung out as a family. There were a few things going on in the neighborhood, but after a long and emotional week, we needed to relax. My husband and I made a few drinks and just relaxed. I made one of my secret recipes, Guinness Chili, which is a family favorite with some homemade cornbread. It was nice just enjoying each other’s company. The kids mostly played outside with their friends, but I LOVE having a neighborhood where the kids can go play outside while being safe.

On Saturday morning, I went and picked up our Bountiful Basket. It was full of great vegetables this time! We received a cucumber, cauliflower, yellow squash, lettuce, zucchini, bananas, plums, and I know I’m forgetting some other things. It’s great because at our pick up location there is a box where we can donate food that we don’t want to the local firehouse. I did throw a few things in there but kept the majority of our basket. After that, since the weather was cooperating, my husband and I decided to hike to a tree by our house. There is this lone tree that my husband has wanted to hike to since we moved in back in July, so Saturday morning was as good of a time as any. We set out and started hiking. My GPS said it was 4.25 miles round trip, but it was in my pocket most of the time so I don’t know how accurate it is. We will probably do it again and maybe I’ll use my arm band so we can get a more accurate distance. It tested my endurance a bit, but it was SO nice to get out there.

image(2)

image(1) image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The rest of our Saturday was filled with our son’s soccer game and a friend’s birthday party. It was so nice to relax and hang out with friends.

Sunday started off slowly, but after yard work, my husband and I decided to head up into the mountains and enjoy Oktoberfest at Snowbird Resort. It was such a nice day up there. We started off wearing hoodies but had them off by the time we headed home around 5pm. My aunt watched the kids so we could have some adult time which was much needed and wonderful. While Oktoberfest does include a lot of drinking, there are a ton of activities for kids like face painting, balloon art, bounce houses, rides, and more, it is nice to get up there with just the 2 of us so we can do more adult activities like eating and drinking 🙂

I hope your weekend was fun and relaxing, all things that a weekend should be! What did you do this weekend and what are your plans for next weekend?

Leave a Reply

