Freezer Stock Up

Chest freezerRecently I’ve become SLIGHTLY obsessed with stocking up our freezer. My husband teases me and says that I’m preparing for the zombie apocalypse. That may not be 100% true, but I would love to have a stock of food in both cold storage & the freezer for that just in case reason. That just in case reason could even be something as little as soccer practice that night and we forgot to plan a meal.

I’ve been adding one freezer meal in our freezer every week for the last 3-4 weeks, along with doing a better job at freezing leftovers. I was pretty impressed with myself when I checked our inventory last night. I have managed to freeze 6 meals, 4 loaves of 9-grain and English muffin bread, along with 2 loaves of homemade chocolate chip banana bread. Even though we have been SUPER busy the last 6 weeks, I’ve still managed to keep my sanity, stick with our meal plan, and add to the freezer.

The next step will be to add some frozen fruits & vegetables and work on the cold storage. I have my shelves set up, but need to unpack my canning supplies along with some of the food that has been canned and should be out so we know what we have.

 

What types of items do you have in your freezer or cold storage? What would you think as basic items for both?

Leave a Reply

