Follow Friday – Daily Tip #67

FollowFridayAfter about 10-11 days, my sprouts are doing AWESOME!!!!! I’m so excited! After planting them, this is what I’ve observed:

  • Green beans, yellow squash, and zucchni sprout the fastest! WOW I wasn’t expecting to see them grow so fast.
  • Cantaloupe, watermelon, cucumbers, pumpkins, and lettuce grow a little slower than the beans, but not much.
  • Onions & green onions had me worried for a bit, but finally sprouted on their own.
  • Habaneros, bell peppers, and jalapenos take their own sweet time! I ended up covering these pods with plastic wrap to give them a little extra help and within 1-2 days the pods had sprouted. PHEW I was very worried.

So note to self: Plant peppers first, give it a few days, then plant the onions. Give those a few more days, then plant everything else. This will help it so everything sprouts around the same time. Now it’s time to get the backyard ready for the plants and get the pallets ready too! We have a few busy weeks coming up, but I think within the next 30 days we will be ready to go, everything will be transplanted, and we will be able to just maintain the garden for the time being.

One thing I was reading about pods, which I didn’t know, is that they help extend the life of your garden. Once I transplant the current seeds and am able to start harvesting the fruit and vegetables, I’ll be able to start some more seeds with seasonal fruits and veggies. In the summer, I plan on planting some more beans, lettuce, and maybe some strawberries along with other things that I haven’t decided on yet. Then come August/September, I’ll start some new seeds with mostly squash, and hopefully a wide variety of it too!

What have you planted in your garden so far and what do you plan on planting?

 

1 Comment

  1. We absolutely love you blog and find almost all off your post’s to bee exactly what I’m loking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for you personally?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating
    on many oof the subjects youu write about here. Again, awesome web log!

Leave a Reply

