Recipe Tuesday – Daily Tip #120

RecipeTuesdayHomemade Chicken Broth

I never knew how easy it was to make, but it’s so worth it!

Leftover bones from one whole chicken
**Whenever I cook a whole chicken, we remove all the meat and then freeze the bones for this reason.
1 TBSP rosemary
1 TBSP parsley
1 TBSP oregano
6 carrots, cut into 1 – 1 1/2 inch pieces
1 large onion, quartered
2 cloves garlic, minced
Add any other vegetables you’d like to add flavor, but don’t use any that would breakdown when boiled like potatoes. I like to throw kale, celery, spinach, or any other vegetables that may be too ripe to eat by themselves.

Place everything in an large pot. Fill pot with water until everything is covered. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 2-3 hours, stirring occasionally. When done, I like to place a large colander in a large bowl and strain the vegetables that way. Throw the vegetables away and pour the broth back into the large pot. Then I’ll take a fine mesh strainer and strain it again into a large bowl. I do this twice to get rid of any small chunks, spices, or vegetable that make their way through. I then measure out 2 cups of broth at a time, pour it into a sealable sandwich bag, and freeze. In the pot I used, I was able to make 9 cups of homemade chicken broth.

Leave a Reply

