Release the Stress Thursday – Daily Tip #136

ReleasetheStressThursdayThese last few weeks have been pretty stressful around our house. Not a whole lot has changed, but at the same time there are changes going on all the time. With a 10 year old son and a 5 year old daughter, I’ve been dealing with mood swings I don’t think I was quite ready for. Yay for summer! I remember summer being SO awesome as a kid, but as a parent, it’s been a little challenging.

Here are a few tips to help you stress less this summer:

  • Get your kids into activities. A lot of rec. centers have great programs that are inexpensive as well. This will keep your kids buys and out of your hair.
  • Set up a time for them to stay up on the things they learned in school (reading, math, and writing). Do this daily.
  • Keep your kids on a schedule. I know I’ve made the mistake a few times this year by letting our kids stay up past their bed time. When my kids get overly tired, it means their emotions are in waterfall mode and there is no stopping it. On a rare occasion, we will let them stay up a little later, but for the most part, they are still on their school sleeping schedule to help keep us all sane.
  • Get some me-time! This is one I need to work on. Whether it’s a bath, reading a book in a hammock, or just some peace and quite, get some!
Leave a Reply

