Bountiful Basket Rainbow Dinner!

Bountiful Basket Rainbow Dinner

Bountiful Basket Rainbow DinnerOne of the many, many things I like about Bountiful Baskets is that I tend to get fruits and vegetables that I typically won’t buy. Lately we’ve gotten a couple young coconuts which are full of coconut water (one of my favorites). We’ve gotten kiwi, squash, and more. But one of my all time favorite things that we get on occasion are the blue potatoes. I honestly had no idea they were even a thing until we got a bag full of them about a year ago. I was so excited when we got them again this last weekend. Not only do they taste really good, but they brighten up the dinner plate and the kids love them because they are fun, rather than boring mashed potatoes.

For this meal, I decided to make it as colorful as possible. I steamed some sliced zucchini (also from Bountiful Baskets), then baked boneless skinless pork chops at 350 until done, and added a side of blue mashed potatoes. And yes they are blue, but when they get mashed and mixed in with a little sour cream, they look more purple than anything.

With mashed potatoes, I peel half of them and leave half with the skin on. I wash them off well, scrubbing if needed. Then I slice them into about 1 inch pieces and put in a large pot. I cover with water and boil on high until they are tender. I check the tenderness with a fork before removing them from the heat. I empty them out in a colander and put them in a large bowl. I will add a couple of tablespoons of sour cream and about 1/2 cup of water. Then using my hand mixer, I blend until smooth and fluffy. Then serve! I like to add a little bit of prepared horseradish to my serving of mashed potatoes to give them a little kick. The blue potatoes cook exactly like regular Idaho or russet potatoes, but they are great for mashing because they seem to have a creamier texture than even red potatoes.

These are definitely one of our favorites, and I can’t wait until we get more in our Bountiful Basket!

Leave a Reply

