Spaghetti Squash Bowls

Spaghetti Squash Bowls

Spaghetti Squash BowlsI don’t know about you, but I LOVE spaghetti squash. Normally I’ll either boil or bake it until soft, then remove the squash into a bowl and toss with salt, pepper, and a little bit of butter. But this time, I wanted to try something new. We had two spaghetti squashes from our Bountiful Basket and I had kept putting off making them. They last longer than some of our other vegetables, so if something came up, that was the meal that was postponed since I wasn’t worried about the squash going bad. After going online and trying to find a different way of cooking them, I discovered this:

Spaghetti Squash Bowls

2 spaghetti squash, cut in half and seeds removed
1 cup of spaghetti sauce
1/2 pound of cooked Italian sausage (I chose the hot version to add some spice, since only my husband and I would be eating this)
Mozzarella cheese

After cutting the squash in half and removing the seeds, I sprinkled them with salt and pepper. I cooked them at 375 for 45 minutes open side down, until soft. Then I used a fork to remove the insides while still leaving it in the shell. I then added 1/4 cup of spaghetti sauce to each, along with Italian sausage. Once that was added, I mixed it up inside the shell with a fork. Once mixed well, I topped with a little bit of mozzarella cheese, and baked again at 375 for about 15 minutes.

These turned out really well and were relatively easy. It was a nice change of pace from our typical baked spaghetti squash side. Instead we turned it into a main course. I am excited to try this again with other options mixed inside the spaghetti squash.

Leave a Reply

